Four Seasons in Waterton

Waterton Square2.png
Waterton Square2.png

Four Seasons in Waterton

from 20.00

June 16, 2018 - 7pm
Waterton Lakes Opera House

Join Conductor Carlos Foggin, Violinist Odin Rathnam, and members of the Rocky Mountain Chamber Orchestra for this rare and exclusive event, held in the Historic Waterton Lakes Opera House!

Add To Cart

General Admission $25
Seniors/Children $20

Vivaldi's Four Seasons is a set of 4 Virtuosic Violin Concertos, each depicting the beauty and fury of each of the 4 seasons.  It's often said if you don't like the weather in Alberta, wait 5 minutes: These concertos are just like that - full of change!

About Odin Rathnam

Since his critically acclaimed Lincoln Center debut in 1993, the American violinist Odin Rathnam has established himself as one of the most passionate and versatile artists of his generation. He has received unanimous praise from critics and audiences for his “captivating temperament,” “brilliant technique” and a sound “recalling the legendary violinists of the past”. A veteran performer at many major European and American festivals including the Algarve International Music Festival in Portugal, Denmark’s Tivoli and Vendsyssel Festivals, Deia International Festival in Mallorca, Boswil Festival in Switzerland, Aspen, Caramoor and Endless Mountain Music Festivals, he has also appeared in recital on the Market Square Concerts series, Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall and Carnegie Recital Hall, where he first appeared at the age of 15.

Mr. Rathnam received his formal training at Juilliard Pre-College and Mannes College of Music with Sally Thomas and Ann Setzer, returning to the Juilliard School as a full scholarship student of Dorothy DeLay and Masao Kawasaki. He studied chamber music with Julius Levine, Felix Galimir, Joel Smirnoff, and Josef Gingold. He also worked closely with the Danish violinist and pedagogue Anker Buch , who is credited by many for bringing Ivan Galamian’s teachings to Denmark.

Mr. Rathnam’s recordings can be found on The Helikon, West Branch and Kleos labels, with works by Mendelssohn, Vivaldi, Strauss and Schoenberg.

Odin Rathnam performs on a late 19th century violin crafted by an unknown master, in the manner of Guarnerius Del Gesu’s middle period.